my first duplex would appreciate some good pointers

4 Replies

hey bigger pocket community how is life? OK so my question today, I will be moving to co springs soon I just got out of the navy and am going to college while bunking it with my family. I should be able to get my first duplex while in college pretty easily with my rate of savings. so I actually have a few questions. how should I go about management? should I do it myself while I am in school? my major is electrical engineering so it is not exactly going to be the easiest major. if property management seems to be the best choice how do I go about choosing the correct one? were do I go looking for deals that give over 10 percent returns? or are those to dried up right now because of how hot the market is? I only ask that because my money is in the market currently and has been receiving that over a historical 10 year period with last year actually being a 20 percent return. I would just keep my money in the market until I am done with college and then obtain my first rental but, with how overvalued the market is as a whole, I would like to hopefully hedge even if it is marginally against a huge correction. any advice is welcome and thanks again for being the best!

@Brad Pietrzak ,

Regarding PM, you have to be honest with yourself if you can handle and prioritize it.     If you think it might be too much, hire out.. it's 10-15% but then you won't have any stress and it will just be straight checks.  

Regarding the properties, unfortunately zillow doesn't have a 10% or 20% returns, you have to go out there and find them, and calculate it yourself.   Determine what your strengths are, and how much time/money you want to put into a property, and then you'll narrow it down to whats the best fit.     We've been in one of the longest bull market runs in history, so just be wary, and IMO now is a great time to diversify!

As always, appreciate the service.