Your first property

9 Replies

Hello all Currently looking at some properties. As a new investor, I️ just wanted to know some of the factors that made you pick a property. For example why did some target single family as opposed to condos or multi families house? Just curious as any tips or perspective will help out Thank you

@Dexter Kubi ,

Multifamily>SFH in terms of cash flow.. focus on multi-family if it's an option for you are you are looking for cash flow! Also, if you're doing rehabs, double or triple your rehab budget, you'll likely find some unwelcome surprises!

If you're buying in cash,  no one will know if you're a seasoned veteran, or complete newbie... ask for a steep discount!    We typically get 25-40% of asking, all because we ask, and it's in cash!

@Linda D. I wish I could get a discount half that good out here :(

But to answer the original question it depends on the type of tenant you want to attract SFR will attract better tenants in most cases but may offer slightly lower returns. I don't like condos for rentals at all, mostly due to high HOA fees and HOA regulations, plus you don't actually own the land just the unit.

I like multi family because the cash flow is better generally.

I think a great way to start is to househack a small multi family property if you can. You can learn the ropes of landlording and save a bunch of money! You also get the same great financing terms of single family or a condo if it’s your first place.

@Dexter Kubi ,

Just to piggie back on @Aaron K. , I would suggest staying away from Condos/Townhouses/anything with a HOA. The HOA makes the rules, and in my experience it's like a little dictatorship! They can do whatever they want, whenever they want, set whatever rules they want... lots of headaches!