What do you do with Cashflow?

34 Replies

I am new to investing, as I have bought my first 2 houses in the latter half of this year. I guess I didn't think this part of it through in detail before starting my new business, but, as stupid as this question may be, what do you do with the cashflow? I am netting about $700/month between the two properties and hoping to add a third by early next year, and I have caught myself wondering what to do with said net income i.e.,  do I pay myself a salary? Do I just let it sit in their respective accounts until I need it? Do I have to pay income tax if I cut a check to myself? Do I open another account to collect my cashflow in? I have no idea at this point, although I am leaning towards just letting it sit there for now. I guess I should ask my CPA, but since I've already spent the time to post this, I'd like to see what the BP community has to say...

I would use it to pay off debt or buy more property

@John Park Congrats on the two houses and welcome to BP.

Firstly, make sure you have some money available for repair reserves. Then, I would definitely reinvest in more property as soon as feasible. Of course, with $1400 a month it might take a while to earn enough for another down payment. In the meantime you could passively invest it on crowdfunding real estate platform, or partner with other investors. The money shouldn't be sitting in an account. Your money should be working for you bringing you more money.

100% of my business income goes to expanding my business. Between purchases I just hold it in a no risk savings account with moderate interest (1.20% Ally)

So, basically the 'left over' (cashflow) money does NOT have to be considered 'W2 Income' for lack of a better term. It can be utilized as capital without going through the 'tax wringer'?

Bank it , build up reserves . Something is gonna break , leak  or need repair . ( at the worst possible time )