First time investing Chicago vs Phoenix

14 Replies

Hi,

I am a newbie from California in the RE world. I am considering to make my first MFR investment, but am trying to decide between Chicago and Phoenix. Some of the criterias that I am looking for are:

1. Property Price in the range of 200-350k.

2. Neighborhood - A,B,C

3. Decent cash flow close to the 1-2% rule.

Reason I am feeling indecisive is because I am finding lot of MFR in chicago area however I am concerned about the job growth prospect and vacancy. Phoenix seems to be getting started with job growth, however I am not finding much MFR in this area.

Need some suggestion from the Pros, even if it means to consider looking at other cities.

Best Regards.

These cities are both good but you're right, phoenix is light on the MFR and Chicago has a lot of them but you've got to watch out where they are.

I think that if you're not finding what you're looking for then to continue searching in other cities.

Are you interested in single families at all? How many units are you looking for?

@Antoine Martel I am open to single family homes if they can provide good cash flows in the price range I am looking for. For Multi family I was looking at about 3-4 unit building.

@Saumya Dash

As a resident of Phoenix for over 10 years, I can tell you that you really won't see the 1% rule here. Homes that go for 200k rent for 1k-1300 depending on what part of the city you are in and how many bedrooms you have. Houses for $350k may rent for around 2k or so here.

MFR is largely non-existing here as compared to the Midwest and East coast. The ones that are here are either in D neighborhoods or are very expensive. I'd study this market very carefully and learns the ins and outs. Feel free to reach out should you have any further questions.