BRRR - Does is make sense with single Chicago condo units?

4 Replies

Hi BP, 

I'm a young professional ready to buy my first piece of property in Chicago. I don't have the funds to buy an entire 2 flat or 3 flat (yet), but I COULD buy just one condo unit if I found the right one. 

My question: is buying a single condo unit in Chicago a financially sound decision that fits into the BRRR mentality, or should I continue saving and renting until I can buy an entire building? As someone who would always prefer to DIY first, the idea of answering to an HOA does not sound fun. I'm also afraid it would sap my cash flow. However, I would love to start building equity and pay rent towards a mortgage rather than burn it on rent, and a condo seems like a good beginner property.

Thanks! 

@Luke Shaw , It all depends on where are you looking to buy. I have a lot of clients from out of state and out of the country that buy in Downtown or close to Downtown, by transportation and the values keeps climbing at a very high rate. The rental market is very strong in Downtown and you get very good tenants!

Let me know if you want to talk more about your options!

Lumi Ispas, Real Estate Agent in IL (#475.113981)
773-392-2906

It depends what kind of condos. Also need to check it's rental friendly (and likely to stay like that).

A high rise condo will have a much higher % of the rent going to assessments and this number will increase more and more as the building ages over time often even resulting in a decrease in value (just look at far north side lakeshore condos selling under 100k with $1000 assessments). 

On the other hand 1 unit in a 4 unit greystone will have much lower assessments then a high rise. Typically $150-300 a month. There will be special assessments here and there but you would need to do these repairs if you owned an entire building also.