Cold Calling - Driving for Dollars Tips?

14 Replies

I am new to investing, I have been driving for dollars and putting together my own list of properties to go after in the areas I want to invest in.  I have been calling these property owners and I feel like my call is weak.  I want to know if somebody could give me some tips - I am thinking I am going about this totally the wrong way.

This is usually how the calls go

Owner "Hello"

Me "Hello (name)"

Owner "Yes can I help you" "or what is this about"

Me "I am a local investor in the area and I saw your property, I wanted to know if you were thinking of selling it?" or i say "would you consider an all cash offer"

Owner "no" 

Any advice/tips would be GREATLY appreciated!

Isaac,

Before we get started, pure cold calling is probably a 100 to 1 ratio or so. 100 calls gets you an appointment.

Next, congrats for DFD and Calling, at least you are doing something. Congrats #2 for figuring you are not doing it the best way and Congrats #3 for recognizing you need help.

Your goal, and only goal when calling is getting to see the property inside. Your script should be set up for getting an appointment. You can't close a deal over the phone when you have no rapport. You need to discover what the seller wants, and that means having a conversation.

I find flow charting is a good way to figure out your path... if you are cold calling you might want to open with:

"Hi, Is this <<insert owners name here>>?"

You get either a yes or no, either way, you could go to (or ask for their name, either way, use it liberally):

"<<insert name here>> Have I caught you at a bad time?" Yes or no,

if yes, then "sorry to disturb you, can I call you back in an hour, or would tomorrow night at 6pm be better?" "Thank you <<insert name here>>, I'll be in touch <<time/date>>