Is partnering on buy/hold a sensible approach?

8 Replies

I am talking to an owner facing foreclosure in Feb. He wants out, and current reinstatement/payoff is $168,400. House value is around $190,000, but it will need a new roof (approx.$7000). I have enough for 10% down, but not the needed 20%. House is in good shape other than roof. Based on rental comps in the area, it should rent in the $1500 range. I am new at this, so would like your thoughts on seeking a partner - 50/50 on all expenses, cash flow, and appreciation. Is partnering in this scenario a good idea?

I think of business partnerships like a marriage, so make sure whoever you partner with is someone you can work well with.  Business divorces can be very messy.

That being said, I do think it is a good idea.  It reduces your risk by reducing the amount of personal capital you have to invest, and hopefully you can find a partner who has a complimentary skill set.  Ultimately, it may allow you both to accelerate your investing plans.

Look into buying the house “Subject to” the existing mortgage

Ken,

If you can bring on a partner and still make the numbers work, I don't see why not. Do you have a partner in mind? Obviously a concern that arises with a partner is not following through with their commitments. If you don't already have a partner in mind I would advise reaching out to some of the more experienced buy and hold investors in your area. Also consider asking for a proof of funds. 

Best of luck

Thanks for the feedback. I don't have anyone yet, but I do have some people that might be willing, and who have more experience than I do.