Owner Occupied vs. Out of State for First Deal

7 Replies

Hi all! Happy New Year!

I am fairly new to BP and have been researching and saving in anticipation of buying my first property this year. I currently live in Raleigh, North Carolina / The Triangle Area and consider my market decently expensive with lower returns than I could perhaps obtain elsewhere.

Does anyone have any thoughts/comments with regard to purchasing a property in the Triangle that is owner-occupied (myself) and renting out part of it and eventually converting it into a full rental that I no longer live in OR investing out of state with the potential for higher returns?

If the property is occupied by me I can have a very low down payment and a great rate. If I buy out of state I know I'd have to put down more money but it might be a better investment in the long-run. I've been looking at properties in the Triangle for several months now and cannot make the numbers work from an investment perspective. 

Any thoughts or advice would be appreciated. Thanks all. 

If I had the opportunity to house hack locally I would do that. I say this from the perspective of recently buying our 3rd place and turning our last house into a rental that is now only 15 minutes down the road. This allows me to be able to check on it and deal with any issues that may arise face to face. I now have two rentals that are in the local area and for starting out I am glad I went this route as I was able to learn on a local level how to deal with being a landlord.