Buying duplex across the street from the good idea?

4 Replies

I'm looking to buy a duplex. It's my first investment property. I'm wanting to house hack it. The seller is extremely motivated, the purchase price is 240k, and I feel I can negotiate for at least 25,000 off the price . It is in a re-gentrifying, up-and-coming area of Houston called Eado. Which in some parts is a little rough, but there are 200k to 400k and above being built all over the area. The questions I have are the morgage payment will be 1260.00 month. The units rent for 850.00, which will make my part 410.00 is it still worth hacking? Also it sits across the street from a well established church. I know it's not a SFR, and most families aren't looking to purchase it long term as a Long term home. Should I steer clear of it considering the church, and a small industrial business on corner next door? Or negotiate the price further?

There’s not enough information to say if it’s a deal or not. I’m not an expert of East downtown but that price seems high to me from what I do know about the area. However, the longer you hold and live in the property, the more equity your likely to build.