Moving Recommendations for Beach Investment

12 Replies

My family and I are looking to move to a warm beach area and purchase a property that we can live in for a year (low down payment) and use as an investment and repeat this process for a few years. We are open to house hacking a duplex-quadplex or SFH that we can rent or airbnb (vacation rental). We've been thinking southern FL, but are looking for area recommendations if there is a better market. I'm a physical therapist so I can get a job anywhere we move.

@Josh Day sounds like a cool plan! Maybe target areas that have a lot of tourism year round. As an example the beaches in NC have a high season and low season, and a lot of them sit empty during the low season. But say down in Charleston you might have more year round traffic because it is a destination. 

This post has been removed.

@Andrew Kerr that's exactly what we were thinking and why we were considering southern FL (Tamp, St. Petersburg, Ft. Myers, Sarasota, Naples) or an area like Charleston. Our only worry with Charleston is that the winter still gets kind of cold. We are also considering areas in Texas (Galveston and Corpus Christi). 

@John Vietmeyer thank you for the recommendations. Do you invest in Charleston? 

yes, I’ve been investing in long term rentals in Charleston for the past 6 years and am now looking at short term opportunities.  

This post has been removed.

@Josh Day I am from the Naples-Ft. Myers area and like others have said these areas are very seasonal. You may have a hard time renting out the unit during off season months and it may sit empty. There are a number of property management companies in the area that specialize in these vacation rental type properties. I'm sure they would be willing to show you examples of vacation rentals and what the numbers look like. Of course do your due diligence as some companies may try to inflate the numbers. Best of luck!