How to have a positive Turnkey investment experience

19 Replies

I repeatedly read negative comments about investing in Turnkey properties and I would like to hear from those that have had positive experiences and what you did to tip the odds in your favor of having your investment be successful. I am a busy professional and simply do not have the time to put in the necessary amount of time in order to extract maximum profit from a buy and hold BRRR-type strategy and yet I still want a piece of the real estate action. Assuming I go the turnkey route, without espousing how poor of a decision it is, I would like to hear how I can make the most of the situation, and yes, I am aware that I will still need to dedicate time to that process as well.

Haha...I love this Kelly! Being pro-turnkey myself, I love that you are asking specifically for the good things about it. Most people ask 'should I go turnkey?' and then you only get the negatives in response. All the while, lots of people are having great turnkey experiences but they just aren't yelling about it on the forums.

So, okay, to answer your question. I started buying turnkeys in 2011. I've certainly had "learning experiences" over the years with them, I've had major wins with them...you name it. So in thinking of how to make the most of it and what you can do to tip the odds in your favor:

• The more people you have behind you, the better and the stronger your position. If you just show up at a direct provider's door and buy one property, you aren't bringing a lot of buying power. So the more people you know, the more people who will have your back, the more [unofficial] incentive for someone not to take you out to pasture because they would be risking ticking off a lot of people.