Inspection without electricity/water running. What can I do?

18 Replies

Hey everyone. My name is Roberto Torres and I'm a newbie investor from Puerto Rico that just got first offer accepted. I don't know if I was more excited or scared when I heard my offer got accepted though. Now what? I thought. First get the lenders, do inspection, talk with family members for cash loan for down payment, find contractors, get job done, then I'm supposed to be a landlord. I'm screwed, what have I gotten myself into!?

Initially I made a 40k offer when seller was asking 70k. After seller declined and said she would go down only 10k she agreed to go to 55k. I could make $200 in cashflow after expenses at this price and this was good. When I was about to leave, a neighbor told me to check plumbing before closing because she was told by the deceased person who lived there that it clogged and he defecated and through it out on a plastic bag on the trash. Horror! This was so crazy to hear at the moment, it felt surreal.

I panicked a little after getting home and was revising what where the next steps. I was not going sign anything until I did a formal inspection but... what can I do if there hasn't been running water on the property for at least 2 years? Can an inspector really know if the plumbing is ok without running water? I imagine I can't put water or electricity on my name before being owner of property. Is crossing my fingers and praying to baby jesus the only thing I can do? I can get in a bit of trouble if something big like plumbing has to be redone after closing. Any recommendations are so welcomed!

Day 5 - #100DaysOfRealEstate

@Roberto Torres

If nothing has worked in 2 years, expect a large replacement bill on everything. If you're lucky, the water was properly shut off because the owner couldn't afford the bill. If you're not lucky, the owner cut off the water because there was some major damage to waste pipes and water supply somewhere.