Just getting started.

7 Replies

im just getting started in real estate investing. Im looking for rental properties in the scranton area. There are several single family homes that need some work that i was looking at. Should i hold off and get a duplex or triplex, or start off investing in a single family home to get my feet wet?

I'm fairly new to the community. I've found that doing something is better than nothing. In other words if you have an opportunity at a deal do it. My opinion is the first deal is the hardest don't talk yourself out of it . Do it !! Welcome

No one here can tell you what's "best" for you. It totally depends on your personal goals, your experience, resources and willingness to work. Can you tell us more about those things, maybe we can give you better, more specific advice.

Corby Goade, Real Estate Agent
208-297-3010

Hi @Ryan Knott , welcome and good luck to you!

For investors starting out, a lot of folks like the concept of house-hacking. Depending on your available funds and goals, you can start with that, and the money saved from someone else paying your mortgage can be allocated to the next deal.

Ultimately I would tell you that some goal-setting, planning, and forecasting is paramount to any investment you get involved in. What is your goal? How will you achieve it? I say this all the time, but figuring out the goal and then working your way back into it is probably the best way to determine your next course of action. Be conservative of your numbers to find the best possible deal as well.