Lawrence Williams
  • Pasadena, CA
Votes |
BRRRR strategy steps for buy-and-hold investing

Lawrence Williams
  • Pasadena, CA
Posted Jan 31 2018, 16:08

Hello BP,

This is my first official post here, and I would like everyone's feedback. I am new to rental buy and hold investing. I have listened to dozens of BP podcasts and read the following BP books:

• The book on Rental Property investing
  • The book on Flipping Houses
  • Long distance Real Estate investing
  • The book on investing in Real Estate with no (and low) money down. (will complete this week)

I am convinced that the BRRRR method, using hard or private money lenders to acquire property, is the best strategy for me. I am big proponent of systems and lists. It is how I learn to make complex things a bit more simple for me. With all of the information I have gathered from BP podcasts and books, I put together the following list of steps for the BRRRR strategy. I will be using the final version of this as a guide and general checklist for each deal I pursue. Please review this and let me know if I missed any steps or if you have some ideas on how I can make improvements. Any feedback is appreciated. Thanks in advance!!

Here are the steps:

BUY

• 1. Set your buying standards for your target properties, and overall investing strategy. MFR or SFR, or both? Cash flow requirements, how much forced appreciation can be added, etc.
  • 2. Collect members of your investment team (Lenders, Agents, Property Managers, Contractors, etc.). Ask for referrals. Make them aware of your strategy and goals, and that they align with them. Interview them and ask questions.
  • 3. Determine if an entity (LLC, etc.) is needed and fits into your strategy. Set this up in advance. If needed, set up a business checking account.
  • 4. Gather forms: Rental minimum qualifications form, application, annual lease form, etc.
  • 5. Locate target property for sale.
  • 6. Analyze target property: