Are Realtors Worth The Commission Anymore?

96 Replies

Given that there is such a liquid market of buyers online I was wondering what people's thoughts are on the commission paid to Realtors. A 6% commission has always seemed scandalously high to me given the typical amount of service one receives on a listing.

I would love to hear the opinion of others on the matter...including the Realtor's take.

I'm a Realtor. In the heyday, I heard this statement all the time and yes, there were some sales that were very easy. Boy, have things changed! Yes, people can find listings on the internet but in my market at least half are short sales, another 35% are foreclosures with listing agents who are less than helpful and 15% are with regular owners that normally are fairly standard sales. Almost every deal has complications and most non-investor buyers would not be able to solve them without professional assistance. Finding a house you like is easy--getting it into escrow and closing are really difficult in our area. I really wish the old days would come back!
(FYI--Most of my buyers also hire me to list their homes when they sell, so they must have seen value in the service.)

There are a couple reasons I can see using realtors:

1. An investor's biggest asset is his time; if you can farm out all the purchase work, marketing and sales work to someone for 6% and they'll do a great job, it may be worth it;

2. Selling a house is not rocket science, but few investors have all the skills necessary to do as good a job as a good agent. If you don't have all the skills, is it worth the risk;

3. Good agents have a big network. The first investment property I ever sold was with another agent. She got the property under contract 4 hours after I gave her the listing because she immediately called her network and was able to find a buyer who was looking in that area that day for that kind of house.