Above Ground Basement Oil Tank

6 Replies

Hi BP Community!

Looking into a property right now with a basement oil tank (above ground). I know nothing about oil tanks except for the fact that they're potentially risky. I've read some things but I am also no expert to tell whether or not its "clean". I know this would be inspected and such, but I want to take precaution and just view this house one more time. What are key things to look for?

How much would the removal of this possibly cost if this was a clean tank?  Is it worth buying a house with something like this? This is my first property and I don't want to get off on the wrong foot. I have experience with the 10k chaos my mom dealt with in regards to her below ground oil tank. How much would my homeowner's insurance increase for having this above ground tank (estimated of course)?

Any input regards ABOVE GROUND BASEMENT tanks would be great! 

TY!

I don't know much about them or about owning a home with one in it. What I can tell you is that I've removed or helped remove two of these thanks with very little issue. All that was used was a drill and a reciprocating saw with a couple of blades. We made a couple of holes at the bottom to drain any left over oil from the tank into 5 gallon buckets, although in both there was barely a gallon left. Then just cut the thing into pieces with the saw to get rid of it. Depending on your local you might need to put the scrap in a pick-up truck and drive it to the dump yourself.

You might also want to put down several tarps as this can be messy.

not a problem. I think you are worried about underground tanks. basement tanks are standard and pose little problem
also...is it in use? hooked up to a furnace? Oil heat is common here in Massachusetts

@Brittany Dave   Welcome to BP!