Cash Purchase of a Freddie Mac Foreclosure using 70% ARV

5 Replies

Hey guys I am new to real estate investing. I want to know if I can purchase a foreclosed home with cash using the 70%ARV and subtracting the rehab cost in my offer. The home is a Freddie Mac owned property and it has been on the market for 108 days. Would love to know how you all would approach this deal. Also, I have no money to put down.

Hey @Carl Dunn
It is seems like an impossible equation : You want to purchase with cash but you have no money to put down!

If you don't have any cash yourself, you need to partner with someone who has cash and is willing to put it as down payment. The rest could come come in the form of a loan.

if It's foreclosed and in good condition, you may be able to get a Freddie loan on it at the time of purchase, but they aren't going to use ARV they are going to use purchase price, and you'll need something down for sure. If you use FHA you can do 3.5% but you have to move in for a year.

most likely scenario is the house is not in move-in condition if it's foreclosed and you'll need to purchase it with cash or equivalent. Rehab the place and secure a tenant then look to secure long term financing which would allow you to get all your invested cash back out (assuming you do a deal with enough spread). So if you can find short term financing to get you through that then you might not need any cash, that said, having no skin in the game comes with it's own set of challenges.