Want owner financing up to 50k money down Philadelphia area

6 Replies

I am new to real estate investing and have approx $200k liquid to begin. I am not eligible for a conventional loan as I am working for a start-up company and will not be approved for a mortgage.

My thinking is to seek owner financing,negotiate mortgage directly with owner, and put up to 50k down for first property.

Am I going in the right direction seeking financing directly with owner or do I have any other options in my current position? I am avoiding purchasing a property 100% cash as I don't want to tie up all of my capital.

Please let me know of any comments or suggestions,

Thank you for your time,

Edwin 

@Edwin Giraldo

Your plan makes sense.

I'm assuming you're looking to buy and hold and not for a single family primary residence...

You should also consider that buying with cash will then give you options later to refinance to pull 60-75% out once the property is stabilized and generating income.

Originally posted by @Christopher Phillips :

@Edwin Giraldo

Your plan makes sense.

I'm assuming you're looking to buy and hold and not for a single family primary residence...

You should also consider that buying with cash will then give you options later to refinance to pull 60-75% out once the property is stabilized and generating income.

Thanks for your reply. You are correct, my objective is to buy and hold. Although, I have turned the property I am currently living in (I own) into a duplex which would allow me to rent and move out into another to have as primary residence. will this make things easier? not sure how that would affect 

@Edwin Giraldo

It would help if you didn't have the cash and could tap into the equity with a HELOC. But, it doesn't help if you're looking to do seller financing to buy your next place.

@Edwin Giraldo