Raising Capital for JV

7 Replies

Hello BP Crowd I’m in a Minneapolis and in the market for a 5-20 unit. I’ve just got done with a refinance of a 3 unit that I was able to pull out $65k from after purchasing in May. I would like to add value to a 5-20 unit but I need partners. Since I’ve never raised money for a deal before I don’t know what I don’t know. From initial conversations the people I know that are potential investors are not very excited about buying right now. My question is how can I add value to these more established investors that don’t “need” to invest. What can I present to them that might build my credibility. For example if I came prepared with the details of the deal I just finished to at least show them I’m not a complete newbie would that be valuable or would that come off as naive because it’s not the same type of investment as a 5-20. For those of you that may have partnered with an up and coming investor (read less experienced). What made you believe in those people OR was it all about the deal that they presented? Anything helps. Thanks! Justin

Do you have a deal in mind or is this just something you are thinking about?

I am not sure how much experience you have outside of the triplex above, but if you don't have experience in something that big, it might be a stretch to sell someone on you being an experienced business partner to lead a deal that big.  It doesn't hurt to try, but it might be hard to find serious investors.

1-4 family properties are looked at more like a single family residence and 5+ are looked at differently.  Financing is different as well as the way the value is derived in an appraisal.  If you haven't done so already, I would recommend you look more into the differences.  It might be hard to get a lender to borrow on a property like that unless you have a strong partner with a history of doing similar projects as the lead.