New member needing help choosing a city for buy and hold rental.

6 Replies

I am new to BP (first post). I am looking to buy my first rental property. It most likely will be a SFH. Appreciation would be nice but I'm really looking to get the most cash flow for my investment.

I live in Loveland CO where the home prices are much higher than I would like to spend for an investment property and the rent I would get really doesn't seem worth it so I am looking out of state.  

I really need this first investment to go well to get the ball rolling.  Can anyone help me find an area that has a good cap rates and cash on cash return?  I'm overwhelmed trying to find a great area.  Any words of wisdom or help would be appreciated.  

I would like to find a property as close as turn key as I can. I don't have any experience working with contractors. I have a brother in law that lives in Oklahoma and invests right outside the OKC area. You can buy an incredible home for cheap but unfortunately you can also rent an incredible home for super cheap and there are tons of rentals available and homes for sale there. I don't feel like the ROI is there but I am a or at least it could be better in another area of the country.

Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Michael

Just noticed my last sentence of my post did not make sense, please disregard it.  Replace it with:

I don't feel like the ROI is there but I'm not the most experienced at evaluating investment properties. I'm sure there are possibly better locations in the country for rental investments.