Votes
Logan T.
  • Rockford, IL
Votes |
Is this a good deal?

Logan T.
  • Rockford, IL
Posted Mar 7 2018, 09:16

Hey everyone, First post regarding a possible first purchase.  I am new to real estate investing and my wife and I have been looking for some rental properties in the Northern Middle Tennessee area.  We are currently under contract on a duplex in Clarksville TN.  I wanted to give some details to see what you guys think about this deal.  Our goal is to create a portfolio of rental units for retirement.

All feedback is welcomed, and please don't assume I know anything.

This duplex is currently occupied on both sides. They pay their own utilities. Each unit is a 600 sq ft 1 bed 1 bath, built in 1951, has cheap siding, 10 year old A/C unit, needs new water heaters, and some other repairs that I have estimated to be around $7k in total.  The biggest of repairs for a tree removal at $2k.  The rent for each unit is $450 with 1 unit on a month to month after 1 year lease was up this month.  The other unit is on a partial Sec 8 voucher,  with only $80 coming from the voucher and the rest being covered by the tenant.  This unit has been occupied with the same renters at the same rent rate for 4 years with their lease expiring in November of 18.  I have spoken with 2 management companies with an 8% management fee who report the rent is under market rent for the area and would plan to start the rent listing at $550 with expectations that it might have to be dropped to $525 to fill the units.  Only 1 unit is currently approved for Sec 8.  This duplex is in a very poor/rough neighborhood relative to this city.  I would see practically zero return on the property because this area is so rough/crime riddled.