Town forcing landlords to turn triplexes into duplexes?

11 Replies

Im new to real estate investing. 

Im interested in buying a property in Middletown NY, however my real estate agent told me the town is forcing landlords to convert triplexes into duplexes when they can't fill the vacancy fast enough. He also said this makes triplexes difficult to find in the area. 

Im not certain what this means on the macro side of things. Does this mean they are looking to increase the number of owner occupied properties? Could they just be trying to decrease local vacancies? Will this force property values to increase? (I think it may) 

What does this mean for real estate investment? Does this make for a difficult first investment? Have any of you experienced a situation similar to this? 

Thank you! 

-Jeff 

Hello Jeff, 

I have been working in Middletown, NY for a few years now. I have plenty of experience dealing with the city and the code enforcers in the area. 

I believe what your real estate agent is telling you is as follows: the CIty of Middletown is enforcing the current zoning status. If there is a tri-plex in an R-2 zoning area (non-owner 2 family), they will make you convert it into a 2 family. Additionally, if you find a property in a OR-2 area (owner occupied - 2 family only), they will not allow you to rent out both units. 

Based on this, you just need to be careful when looking at properties to check the zoning map. 

I think the reason the city is cracking down on this is to increase home ownership. 

That sounds like a " taking" of private property without payment .  Zoning in my area has a non conforming or grandfathered clause . They wont allow new triplexes , but if its already there its legal 

I actually had 2 properties that they forced me to convert into a duplex from a triplex.