Buying a home/investment property that banks won’t touch

4 Replies

Hey, I’m a long time lurker of bp and the information found on here is simply amazing. At the moment my wife and I are looking to purchase our first home (a fixer upper) in a nice neighborhood but the home has foundation issues such as leaning walls, cracked bricks, etc. I’m a masonry contractor and specialize in brick and foundation repairs so the repairs aren’t an issue at all it’s just that no bank wants to finance a home needing those kind of repairs. So that’s the background and my question is how does a young person with not much credit history get a loan for something like that? Also I have 10k for a down payment, the house is only 50k and comparable homes in the neighborhood that are in decent shape but need an update are selling for 100-140k so it would be a great investment but I’m looking forward to hearing some insight from people with experience in this sort of thing. Thanks!

Hi @Kain Stevens welcome to BP!

This is why folks go with private lenders or hard money lenders. They are more willing to lend on distressed property. Look at finding a family or friend that can lend the money, get a first lien position on the property, and then you can refi in 6-12 months to pay them off.

@Kain Stevens Have you looked into first time homebuyer owner occupant renovation loans such as a FHA 203k loan? Those can be a great way to purchase a home that needs work at favorable terms.

Research that type of loan and see if it works for you and your situation. If it does, then search your local area for lenders or brokers that specialize in these types of loans and contact them for a consultation.

Michael Noto, Real Estate Agent in CT (#RES.0799665)
860-384-7570

Hey, thanks for the quick replies and I’ve looked at my options from private lenders like lendingone however they said that a loan that small would usually be done by a hard money lender so that’s an area that I’m researching at the moment.