Buying Rental Properties in Elizabeth, NJ

10 Replies

Hi Everyone, 

I am looking to buy my first rental property. I have come upon an opportunity to buy a Multifamily rental property in Elizabeth, NJ. The seller says that Elizabeth is a great place to invest because it has the most train riders in the area and is a growing area. The property already has tenants, one section 8 and the other cash paying. This property also comes with a 2 year home owners warranty from American Home Shield to cover any repairs. 

This looks like a good opportunity but I am kind of hesitant. Is Elizabeth a good  place to invest ? Not really sure if it is a safe area and whether I will be able to manage the tenants. 

Any advice or experience in this area would be appreciated as this is my first time and I am not sure of what exactly I should be looking for ?

Thanks

@Altaf Essani The best thing you could do as a new investor looking to buy your first property is link up with a very good agent who has experience with investors!

@Altaf Essani Elizabeth NJ is a very commuter friendly area with many working in NYC. Having a property in an area like Elizabeth is great with the crowd making NY money looking to pay NJ rents. One thing to take into consideration is what is your knowledge on Section 8 and would you want to handle a cash tenant? Also, what kind of tenants are you looking for? Elizabeth is next to Newark airport and not considered a very pleasing area. If you know anything about Newark, Elizabeth is pretty much the same. I would expect things in this neighborhood to fall into the D ratings. Be prepared to deal with less than desirable tenants/applicants with a few good ones possible due to the close location to NYC/jobs

It depends on what part of Elizabeth.  The elmora & westminster sections are good.  some parts are very seedy and eyesores. 

try to stay west of 1&9.