Would you buy from a seller with a criminal record?

10 Replies

Hi Everyone,

I am negotiating with a seller on a property and upon doing some research found out that the seller had a substantial criminal record. Would you back out of negotiations or continue regardless of that? 

Thanks for your input!

Best,

Dave

Buy it. I wouldn’t worry about the record unless It hinders the financing or anything.

Tommy Sessions

I wouldn't let that affect my decision at all.  Who cares?  After the sale, you won't have anything else to do with him.

Thanks for the quick responses @Tommy Sessions and @Kyle J. ! If the seller is also rehabbing the house beforehand would you still feel the same way?

Yes I would feel the same way. I am a police officer and the only thing I have had to worry about is contractors who have current/pending charges. I actually had a contractor come who I have an active felony case on. Obviously couldn’t have him do any work. Like mentioned previously, once purchase is complete you don’t have further contact. Last place I bought, I spoke with seller once on phone and twice on email. The rest was through title company. Good luck

Tommy Sessions

Originally posted by @Dave Bopp :

Thanks for the quick responses @Tommy Sessions and @Kyle J.! If the seller is also rehabbing the house beforehand would you still feel the same way?