How much down payment when you have a lot of capital?

8 Replies

Hi All,

I'm from Australia where the market is extremely high where the average single family home here in my city costs 900k and cash flow is extremely hard unless you have a lot of capital and put down a large down payment. But ive stumbled across a market with some good 2 bedroom units that go for 350k with about 15k rental income. My question is am I better off putting down a big down payment or splitting my capital across multiple properties? I'm probably able to purchase 5x 350k properties with a 100k down payment. But i'm unsure if I should just put in 50% of the value to make sure I have cash flow. I've been investing in crypto for over 6 years which is why I have a lot of capital. But the money is useless unless i put them into real estate for cash flow

Congrats on your crypto success and wisdom to get out with gains! Is that 15k your yearly net? cause it better be! you need  30k gross to have 15k net(including management) and still kinda crappy investment wise unless you are SURE it will appreciate. 350k x 4.4% = 15k.

No apartment buildings available? I would think your cap rate would be better

Hi Will,

Apartments are available but there is a huge over supply of apartment development here in Sydney. Someone mentioned to me in PM that I have the option to build wealth through appreciation of equity which seems like the better option for the Sydney market. Positive cash flow is pretty hard here in sydney due to the high prices. A 1 bedroom apartment can go for 350k in a 'bad' area and up to 700k in a 'good' area. It's pretty tough here so I dedicated my younger years with high risk crypto to raise capital.

You are right even with 30k gross it would still be a crappy investment

Real estate is a great investment tool...but that doesn't mean you will win in every situation.