Buying (or not) in Los Angeles. Help!

6 Replies

Hi everyone.

I'm brand new to this forum and very new to the real estate world.  

As a self-employed musician, I finally have 2 years of high tax income being shown, and I have some cash to buy now in Los Ange.  Also, Pre Approved.  I managed to get 2 years on a W2.

I'm looking in the range of $300,000 - $450,000 range, condo, townhome etc. House would be preferred but not for my price range.  Preferably looking in east LA, anywhere from Koreatown all the way to Azusa.

I wanted to ask if you think it's a good time to buy in LA.   Everyone is telling me, "if you can do it, do it" but I'd like some real opinions here.   

I'm looking at this strictly as a business and am looking to make as much profit as possible, obviously.

Any insight on great upcoming areas, or any advice on when or how to do this PROPERLY, would be so appreciative.

Thank you!

@Neal Daniels congrats and welcome. Not sure how far south you’re looking, but South LA is seeing growth. Also a lot of San Gabriel valley still has homes that are affordable. Most may need updates, but there are opportunities out there.

@Neal Daniels

Hey Neal, first off welcome to BP.

A few questions just to get a better idea of where you're at mindset wise. 

A. Are you buying to move in yourself, or are you buying for the purpose of investing and cash flow?

A2. If you are buying for yourself, how much is your current rent, does it go up every year and is it becoming unrealistic? If you are buying for an investment and are not planning to live in it are you will to go further than Azusa for cash flow?

B. How long do you plan on staying or holding onto the unit? 

C. How long has the money been sitting in the bank and will investing it into property be the best option for the kind of investor you want to be?

C2. Investor you want to be meaning Passive or not, self-managing or hiring a management company, A, B C neighborhood etc