Cosigning a Rental Lease Affect Ability to get Investment Loan?

6 Replies

Hello,

I'm still a total newbie/wannabe investor. My short-term goal is to buy a place in Denver that I can house hack easily, namely a duplex or multiplex, so I can get others to pay for my mortgage. I'm still house hunting, but I'll need to finance the property and am currently weighing my options between conventional, hard money, or FHA.

Meanwhile, my brother in Los Angeles is asking for my help to obtain an apartment.  He needs a cosigner and I'm willing to help him out.

My question is:  If my name is attached to his rental agreement, will that affect my ability to obtain future investments loans?  Will a bank or lender weigh this when considering me for a loan?  Does a lease agreement even show up on a credit report?  

Thanks,

Brian

I highly doubt a landlord in CA would put that on your credit report unless you OR YOUR BROTHER, was delinquent.

Just so you know, hard money lenders don't lend to owner occupants. It will take a miracle to get an FHA offer accepted on a property in this market. Plus you don't want to pay the funding fee.

Look at a 3 or 5% down conventional loan. @Jared Bouzek is a lender on the forum here that would be able to help.

Hi Matt! Yea, I’d heard FHA Loans are all but impossible to get sellers to accept. It sucks. I’ll certainly reach out to Jared when the time comes!! Thanks for the info!