Seller financing and profit split question

2 Replies

Hello everyone,

I am BRAND NEW to the real estate investing arena and have a question about how I am trying to structure my first deal. I located a house in Miami that the seller bought at auction and is asking $170,000. The house is a 2/1 with about 1300sf and a huge lot of about 11,000sf. The ARV seems to be around $200,000-$210,000 and there is about $20,000-$25,000 in rehab. I am not wanting to come out of pocket at all and have found a hard money lender that will provide 85% of the purchase and 100% of the rehab expenses at 10% interest. I am trying to see if the seller will hold a note for the remaining 15% at 8-10% interest only and then offer him 15-20% of the profit. I obviously want to get the purchase price down as low as possible but am not sure what would be a good price to still be able to profit in the end. I was hoping to get them down to about $125,000 but I don't know if they will go that low as they "claim" that they have an offer for $155,000. I don't buy it because they are still negotiating with me. Is this a good deal at $125,000? What if I go to $140,000 to try to close this deal? I want to profit but I am mainly looking for the experience. Thank you all for any suggestions.

At $170,000 it is not a deal you have $25k in rehab and then you have Realtor fees, make sure your math includes Realtor fees, holding costs, and taxes as well as just rehab, they aren't selling it to anyone at $170,000 if the rehab really is $25,000.

Hey @Steven Cosner