Durham, NC TREIA or Not?

6 Replies

Hey all, 

I'm new to the Durham NC area and looking to join an REI Group. I see one named TREIA and wanted to know if it was worth it.

Any feedback is appreciated!

Pay to attend one meeting bring some biz cards and network.  Try to identify what real estate need you have before attending so you know who to try and connect with ,if you find someone who can help you out then it was worth the cost of attending. You don't have to be a member to attend but you will have a higher entry fee than members will. If you like it then you can decide to become a member if not you only made a small investment $20-$30. @Dawn Brenengen handles the Bigger pockets meet up in Raleigh/Durham and there are hundreds of people here on BP to connect with. Hope this helps out !!!

@Michael Bell TREIA is definitely worth it to attend.  I would go to one of the smaller subgroup meetings instead of the big monthly meetings.  And yes, we do have a BP meeting every so often.

@Adrian Becoat & @Dawn Brenengen

I greatly appreciate the feed back. I would love to be invited to the next BP meet up and connect any other time for coffee or lunch. I think I will take Adrians advice and attend one and see how I like it. 

Just a heads up TREIA West has a meeting Monday April 23rd. I just registered and there were a few seats left .....TREIA West is basically Durham , Orange & Chatham counties. @Michael Bell

@Michael Bell I’ve been to several treia meetings and I would echo what others have said about doing smaller sub groups instead of the main meeting.

The main meeting I went to was basically a 3 hour guru pitch, which I found really off putting. Then they keep pushing this other guru from Cincinnati for wholesaling. I like to avoid gurus when possible.

I didn’t like what I was seeing so I basically created my own groups, that are much smaller. Hope this helps.