• Rental Property Investor
  • Kansas City, MO
Votes |
Conventional Financing Nightmare

Dennis S.
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Kansas City, MO
Posted Apr 11 2018, 12:14

So I am new to this whole process, and trying to gather some thoughts and see if this is somewhat commonplace, or as ridiculous of a situation as I feel it likely is.

We are closing on a Triplex in the Kansas City area with a conventional loan.   The Purchase price is 100K, and we are putting 25K down.  I shopped around quite a bit for a good interest rate on the mortgage, and managed to snag 5.125 with US Bank, which seemed pretty good to me!   We had had an issue with US Bank on a refinance on our personal property about a year back, where a streamline refi became a several month process and the locked in interest rate changed repeatedly, but understand that sometimes issues happen.  We have used them for a few other things and never had an issue. so thought to give them another shot.

The Inspection came back with more issues then we were expecting, but no big deal, we can work through that.

The appraiser came through and did her thing...  She noted a couple repairs, but I wanted to have an extra inspection done on the electrical based on the inspection results. 

Then we got her report from the bank, and the house was valued right at 100K.  As thats what we were paying, no problem.  However, they had a list of 4 needed repairs from the list the assessor noted.   They needed a couple gutters fixed, foundation patching from the structural engineers report completed, a new sump pump, and a roof inspection completed.

So, we informed the sellers of the required items.   They grumbled a bit but got them taken care of.    They also were willing to discount the price of the property a bit to help cover the cost of the needed electrical repairs.