Upfront costs for private money

9 Replies

I have an offer on the table for a private money loan of $310k to finance the purchase of two properties. The lender wants half of the fees up front ($6k) as a wire transfer. Is that normal? I've never done private money before. It's not that I object to paying the $6k, it's that if i do a wire transfer, there is no real guarantee that I get funded. after that, everything goes through an escrow company so I feel fine with that. Is this ok or should I worry?

This doesn't sound like it's a "private money" deal since you mentioned a lender and fees.

Private money is cash you get through friends, family, etc.

Are you referring to a hard money loan?

I'm using a person I met through an REIT group. As I understand it, a hard money loan is a short-term loan of 18 months or less with a balloon payment due at the end. This would be a private money loan where an individual is lending me money for 30 years, much like a bank. Am I misunderstanding my vocabulary and that is actually hard money loan? in any case, it is a 30 year fixed rate loan from a private individual. They are charging four points for the loan and would like me to wire them half upfront. 

@Tanya Knickerbocker   Always a red flag if they want upfront fees, especially wired.  Also a flag for an individual to lend money for 30 years.

It's basically a private individual giving you a "bank loan." But with the fees I'm wondering if it's not a better idea to just get a bank loan, unless you can't.  

Hard money doesn’t mean sketchy or suspicious.
Hard money is just a term; HARD is just the Asset “the property” is in “physical object”. As a newbie investor I formed my business model around utilizing Hard/Asset based lending. Don’t get me wrong I haven’t used hard money yet. However I know what it is how it works and who’s helping investors in my neck of the woods.