does the 50 percent rule hold up in wisconson still?

7 Replies

I'm asking because I notice property prices are pretty affordable. but the property taxes can be attrocous in some areas of Milwaukee and it's suburbs. so I was wondering if that changes this rule of thumb for evaluating a deal or not. would it matter if I manage my propertys my self. I just moved to Milwaukee so I am still learning alot
Holds up depending where you buy. be very careful in studying neighborhoods, the tenant base, and the prevalence of crime. If you're looking for B class property and the 2% rule, not happening. Certain neighborhoods you might seem stable enough and you can still hit that. We just bought one on the fringe (a line I'm comfortable with - unless experience changes my mind) that actually hits more like 3.5%. good luck!
I was thinking starting in west allis with a houshack what do you think of that neighborhood? I've heard west allis is a pretty working class c area. It mentions you are a wholesaler as well for Milwaukee I'm still in my saving process at about 45k right now probably hit 50k by the end of the month working up to just buy cash do you mind if we keep in contact so when I'm ready I can check to see if you have anything or found anything in areas I'm looking at?

As far as property taxes, you won’t see a significant difference until you get out of Milwaukee County. West Allis is a pretty big city with multiple neighborhoods and demographics, I wouldn’t consider it all the same asset class (C in your example). What is your goal? You mentioned house-hacking and paying cash. That seems very doable. If you were going to pay cash though, why wouldn’t you just buy a rental outright. IMO people house hack as a way to get favorable financing (3.5-5% down) leaving them with very little invested. In return, you’re (hopefully) paying yourself the rent of your unit, keeping it maintained and building cash reserves to do it all over again.