Investing in out of state is it necessary to visit prior?

18 Replies

Hi I'm new to investing out of state and am looking at the Cleveland market. My business partner and I have invested in some homes in California and are selling one and doing a 1031 exchange. However through reading alot of literature alot of investors are saying its not necessary to visit the property before investing with the use of technology and video conferencing its much easier. I believe we should meet the agent/property management company in person and really get a feel for the property, it's a Turnkey 20+ unit apartment complex. My partner is saying it's not necessary, what are your thoughts it's a large investment. 

Hey Suzanne.  We work with a lot of out of state investors and they are all different!  I personally recommend that people always come and get a feel for  the city, meet with people, and really build a team they trust.  I think the risk factor is to high, as there are a lot of people who will sell anything to anyone...

I cant fathom making that kind of investment without checking out the property in person and the PM who will be your lifeblood..  on line does not cut it in my mind

I personally wouldn't buy any out of state property without hopping on a plane and going to see it first.

Nevertheless a "turnkey" 20+ unit apartment complex with property management I've yet to meet as well.

@Suzanne Chan