Is a turnkey investment good for a beginner real estate investor?

44 Replies

Hello everyone! 

I'm new to BiggerPockets and just finished reading Brandon Turner's "The Book on Rental Property Investing". I live in Portland, OR, where the housing market is very high for rental property investing. Turnkey investing seems very enticing, and I am seeking some advice from experienced investors. Is turnkey investing a good way to go for a beginner investor like myself? If so, what are the most reliable turnkey companies with in-house property management? 

Thanks!

David 

This post has been removed.

I think it can be a good way to start but recommend branching out from there after you do a couple.

I think it depends on where you want to go with RE investing. Is rentals something on the side to invest your money and build wealth (this can be great if you have a high earning potential in your W2 job - so you can focus your time on earning $ and then investing that in more turn key). Obviously a portion of your returns will go to paying for it being turn key and ‘hopefully’ less hastle.

For others getting started they don’t have the capital and need to build sweat equity or want to use their time to maximize their cash on cash return. Using BRRRR will typically max COC returns (remember you don’t have to personally renovate, you can still hire out someone to do the renovation) but this way you are focusing on finding deals below market value and doing the dirty work to build them up (typically have a better equity position in the property afterwards after all is said and done). But of course there is a little more at risk (depending on your experience level and renovations involved) and much more time involved.

Think about what you are envisioning for yourself and go after that.