New Jersey Real Estate

21 Replies

I am new to real estate, After doing some research, I’ve been wanting to jump in head first. However, I have seen things that turn me off such as NJ having the most foreclosures in the nation. Also, NJ leads the nation in property taxes and are expected to go up. I would like some insight. What are NJ investors doing to make up for these bumps on the road? What’s the hottest type of real estate in NJ ? (Rentals, flips, buy/hold)

I don’t have any issues here. It is a tenant friendly state if you are doing rentals, but if you properly screen them up front you should not have too many issues in that department. I have always used 25/40 debt to income ratios. Taxes are high but rents are also high as well. There are tons of opportunities all over the state. I started investing by focusing on the markets close to my house. We have done well here.

If you don’t own anything consider starting by buying a fixer upper duplex. It will give you money to offset your mortgage payment. You will also have the opportunity to increase the value by renovating the units and raising rents. FHA you can qualify for up to a four family.

Good luck.

If you are interested in flipping houses, the fact that NJ has the highest number of foreclosures in the country is a good thing, there are many vacant and distressed (read: cheap to purchase!) properties still available in NJ, some have been vacant for ten years (since the recession) and are just coming to market now. Or you could rehab one and keep it as a rental, BRRRR method. Yes, property taxes are high, the market is pretty flat for high end properties now, they seem to have hit a ceiling price wise. More people move out of NJ every year than move into it b/c of taxes, traffic, other factors. So the rental market may be stronger than the homebuyer market in some areas, especially anywhere with commuter lines to NYC (bus, train).

Originally posted by @Mike P. :