How to cash flow $10,000 a month?

17 Replies

I've set myself the goal of eventually earning $10,000 per month.  I have a lot of free time, I'm willing to work as hard/long as it takes, I have no experience and have never bought a property.

Is figuring out how to buy an apartment building the best thing to do?

Hello and your question is worth addressing Cayce! I would say that apartments are the best way to go with rentals in today's economy. It depends on how much money you have to invest in real estate? You may need to raise money. If you can clear, after any debt price is made, requires about 50 units if you determine making $200 per unit after all payments including the debt payments and property tax, you need about 50 units. If financing is involved and repairs/rehab is required, Banks will probably not loan to you without experience.

If financing is required you might want start small and work your way up to about 50 units.  The $200 a month per unit is doable.  Planning on making a net of $100 per unit is more possible but that would take 100 units.  Hiring an experienced Property Management Company should be under your budget of that many units (either one) and include your monthly reporting requirements including financial and occupancy reports that are necessary for you.

One good thing that is to be a

good thing in that type of investing only requires one address. There is less competition in this type of investment which is more dependent on the income versus comparables which are usually more retail as your competition is. It also uses the capital rate that makes you more value per the buck spent because of the cap rate, typically. Ideally you need a 6 to 8 cap rate that is used in your selected area.