Help to save elderly parents home

3 Replies

Hello,

I am new to real estate investing. However, my elderly parents are in desperate need of saving their property. I know there's a way that I can help but need some help. Here's the issue: (1) the house needs repairs, plumbing, roof, electrical and major reconstruction. (2) my parents are on fixed income and would not qualify to refinance property. What is the best solution to upgrade the property without my parents having to sell before things become a safety issue? Can they deed it over to another family member and that family member can refinance the house to do the repairs? What are the legal risk in terms of someone else assuming the loan?

@Anissa Pearson from San Pedro, CA

First off, sorry to hear, that your parents, need to go thru this. 

Do they have some type of 401(k), or other retirement plans they can borrow from? Keep in mind there are some retirement plan that won't let you borrow even under hardships. But it's worth to investigate. 

There are other loans, that borrow from the equity for cosmetic loans, but come at a higher interest rate, also, it places a lien on your property for security, you know.

I'm strongly against, deeding it to another family member, simply because YOUR PARENTS will be relinquishing "all rights" to the property. Real property for Nothing. A big NO, NO. 

Lastly, I know you are against it, but it's much better protecting your parents equity than deeding it to someone else. And its selling the property, CONTINGENT upon acquiring another property. It gets more details than this.

Anyhow, hope this helps.

-Rudy Vazquez 

Hello Rudy,