Are My Values Outdated??

5 Replies

Hi all!

I am a real estate agent in Tampa with a wholesale brokerage and I have noticed a huge trend lately that I wanted to get opinions on.  Or who knows,  maybe it has always been there and I am just now noticing. That trend is the complete unwillingness of people to have face to face meetings. Not only have I seen tremendous push back on a simple meeting, but even hostility that I would dare suggest it. 

I could be wrong here, but I find such value in making business relationships with people IN PERSON. Why on earth would you trust me to sell you an investment property, if we have never ever met. And vice versa too! I know we are all busy in this business, myself included, but the way I look at it is if you have an hour to go look at every property I email you, why aren't you able to spend 30 minutes to meet with me just once?

As someone in my twenties, I heavily rely on the capacity for communication that technology has given us; but I do not think it should entirely replace face to face relationships. I just don't find an email capable of conveying trustworthiness and reliability like a handshake and face to face contact does.

Please tell me your experiences and what you think!

What kind of meetings are you looking to facilitate? Is it just a get to know each other meeting, and the client has to drive to you/your office? If so I could see people being opposed to it. If you offer to meet them at a location they are, at a time that works for them, and the meeting has merit, it seems like they would be open to that. Personally my realtor and I have only ever been face to face when looking at houses or closing. We have never had any meeting.