First Property: Property Manager or No?

12 Replies

I'm curious to hear from people who used a property manager on their first deal. I'm new to RE, have a 50 hour/week job where I travel, so being an active landlord isn't something I think I can do--for now.

Are there others here who, from the start, used property managers and simply use RE as a true investment (i.e. you've always just written checks and don't swing hammers)? If so, what advice can you give a newbie like myself?

Be prepared to go through multiple managers before you find the right fit. Be prepared to micro manage a PM until you are confident they are competent. Never trust a new PM. Regardless of whether you self manage or use a PM you must still be a active landlord. Never turn your back. 

Your responsibility as a owner, if not self managing, is to manage your manager. They must operate your business based on your policies and operating practice...…… Best hope you know exactly how to operate your business in advance or your PM could easily run it into the ground.

Remember TRUST is not a business practice.

Hi @Chris Serger I would recommend that you network with others and see who they are using for property management. If you had the time, which it looks like you don't I would have recommended self-managing just to learn the ins and outs. With your current schedule that may not make sense and would be more of a burden, it would likely payoff to pay the 9-10% to have a professional manage the property. Absolutely vet several of them, but get some names from folks that are doing this in volume and that will help you narrow down your search. Best of luck!

Thanks for the advice, @Eddie Sorrell . Someone I trust made the point that if you never manage a property you won't know how to manage the property manager, which makes total sense to me, but I just don't think it's a valid option for me.