Agent wants to waive inspection contingency. Yay or Nay?

94 Replies

Hi bp. Putting an offer in on a property that may be getting multiple offers. My agent wants to waive inspection contingency. This is my first time buying a property and going through these Steps. Is this common? Is there any benefit? 

The cleaner an offer is the more the seller will find it attractive provided the money is OK. I would not waive inspection; and a bidding war on top of that? You might as well go to a real auction. Just my opinion

I would not waive an inspection contingency. What your agent should do is say "my buyer wants the home as is at the offered price, and won't haggle on seller subsidies pending the result of the inspection". That way you can still back out if the inspection shows massive costs to repairs, yet make the seller take your offer over others. That's typically been my strategy.

I think it's a disservice for an agent to tell someone to waive an inspection. The agent doesn't have anything to lose if you buy a property with large capital repairs you weren't aware of. Do you?

In DC you would not be able to buy a property with an inspection contingency.  95% of the time someone is willing to buy without one. So in my market, it is very common.

Your agent is likely giving you the reality of the market.  

You better make damn sure that there isn't anything major wrong with that property, because your agent isn't going to help you with the cost of foundation fix or replacing the electrical. I know some areas mean you'll never get a property with that  contingency. But taking on that kind of risk for a first or second property is not good. 

Originally posted by @Rob Lee :