Good markets in Oregon

8 Replies

Hello everyone! My name is Jon and I am a registered nurse from CT. I have been educating myself for the past 6 months or so on the endless opportunity that is REI. I refuse to ever rent in my 20's, so once my girlfriend finishes her masters, we plan to move and invest in a multi unit property that we can house hack (just to start off our REI journey). We have three states in mind and they are the following: CA, CO, and OR. CA is pretty much out of the question after much research due to the high costs and difficulty of getting a good ROI. CO and OR seem to be our options, but leaning more towards OR. We have only explored in and around Portland so far. My question is, does anyone have any other suggestions in OR to invest in? Any other good cities or areas around nice cities where there seems to be some predicted appreciation? Any help is appreciated! Thanks in advance!

Hi Jon, welcome. I'm a big fan of your plan. Oregon multi family, especially portland area, is not cheap. But with little money down by house hacking and some updates while occupying you can do well. For a little "cheaper" but good upside I would look at newberg, sherwood, maybe even Sandy.

Salem for sure is cheaper, but not sure the appreciation will be there and rents are lower. There are also smaller college towns like mcminnville and forest grove that might get you a lower entry point, but put you a ways from Portland

I have to agree with Nels. Salem, McMinnville, Corvallis. Don't rule out Vancouver, Washington area its just over the river from Portland.

I love Oregon. I'd tell anybody its the best state, but I'm curious what's your draw to Oregon.

Another cool place to check out might be The Dalles Oregon.