Possible to use someone else's HELOC as private money?

6 Replies

Hi everyone,

I'm currently trying to figure out different ways to finance my first deals, and private money seems to be a great option. However, due to the fact that I'm just starting out, I don't exactly have an extensive network of individuals waiting in line to lend me their money. My parents have a considerable amount of equity in their primary home as they've been living there for well over 20 years, and I was wondering if it was possible to (potentially) have them take out a HELOC and allow me to use that as a private money loan provided I pay it back within a year or two? Or if I were to use a HELOC as a way to invest, does it have to be from a property that I own personally? Has anyone successfully done this?

I also feel it's important to mention that I'll be using that HELOC loan and implementing the BRRRR strategy, likely on a small multifamily home/ very small apartment complex( less than 10 units). I'd be raising the value, refinancing and paying off the loan within a year or two. I understand there's a big difference between commercial/residential properties, but I'm just curious if using this strategy in general would be at all possible.

Any insight would be appreciated, thanks everyone!

@Brennan Doherty , I've not done what you're asking about, and others may chime in, but here's my two cents. Your parents can use their HELOC funds however they want, but they'll want to be aware of the associated tax consequences. It really depends how it fits into your purchase plan. If you plan to pay cash, and all funds come from your folks, full steam ahead. If you plan to finance the purchase and use some of their funds as a down payment, the requirements of the financial institution will determine what can/can't be used as source of funds. There should be plenty of good options. Good luck to you.

@Chris Jensen

Hi Chris, thanks for the reply.