1-Million $ Question - Investing Inheritance

24 Replies

Hello,
I'm new to the investing game and I'm an big fan of BP. I'm going to give as much information as possible, but also cut a long story very short. 

My father will be given his pension when he turns 70 1/2 in a couple of years. He will be receiving over 1.2 million dollars.

He does NOT need it as he is getting income from varies sources (401k, Veteran's , SS, etc)

He wants to give it to us, 4 children (ages 44/40/34/32), when he passes away, but in the mean time invest in such a way that all of us (children) gets passive income. He asked for my help.

I suggested that he move the funds to Vanguard (Custodian), leave the account under his name, simple 60/40 split on some Index funds, and use maybe half $600K of those funds to buy a few multi-unit properties.

Do you think this is a good strategy?

I appreciate any and all suggestions. Thanks! 

A.

Since you are new to the investing game, I would consider passively investing with a more experience operator, like in a handful of apartment syndication deals. Then, once you've educated yourself more on real estate, you can use the profits to invest in your own deals!

@Aram V. first of all, congrats to your father on the successful career and a personal thank you for his service! That said, it's not a bad idea to do mostly index funds. If real estate is your asset of choice for the remaining funds, I would suggest doing what you know. If, however, you don't know real estate but still want to invest in it, I would second @Theo Hicks  and say to place your money with an experienced operator. Syndication is a great option (you can even diversify by asset class, geographical location, and/or Sponsor), but you can also lend your money to other folks doing flips and the like, note investing, etc., all of which are "passive" compared to some traditional real estate routes.

And best of luck!

Originally posted by @Steve B. :