Need to know Is Wholesale Legit?

8 Replies

I have been doing a lot of research about Wholesaleing real estate. I have books coming in, & I’m currently enrolled in a wholesale class, but i just want to know honest opinions.. can a 21 year old actually start making legit money in this field if he puts his all into it? I’m in college and don’t have much going for myself so i can’t afford to be wasting my money if this is not a legitimate way to make money. All replies welcomed 

@Jerry Galloway I have limited experience with wholesaling myself, but one thing I‘ve learned is that wholesalers work their tails off to find deals - which often means spending a small fortune on advertising. If you don’t have a budget for advertising, then the competition will be fierce. Is it a legit way to make money? Absolutely 100%, just gotta outhussle or outspend the other guys.

@Jerry Galloway Wholesaling is legal and legit nationwide. Tons of investors do it but as @Stanford Neal Mead , it's tough to find those deals - deals where you can buy cheap enough that you can sell to a rehabber who can rehab and still make their own great profit.

I find it interesting that "gurus" promote wholesaling as cheap, fast and easy. What I have found over years is it's the experienced investors who are more successful with this form of investing.

Good luck!

@Karen Rittenhouse your version of wholesaling (actually buying and then selling) is always legal... however it is not what 95% of the BP members actually call wholesaling. To them wholesaling is locking a house up under contract and then selling that contract to another investor.

In your example, the wholesaler would need money, or a loan, or some way to buy the house. In the 95% wholesaling they need no money, as they have no intentions of buying anything.