How to choose the a market?

35 Replies

I have been wondering what market to invest in? I live in California and with its Laws from my understanding, it is geared more towards the tenants than the landlord and it can be crazy expensive to purchase and then taxes on top of that. I am sure there are places in and outside of California that are lower in taxes and as well as higher. However, as a newbie I wanted to get a few opinions on where a great place might be able to start.

Would turn key be a great start for a newbie or not?

Looking for both equity and cash flow and they do not need to be necessarily group together.

Thoughts anyone?

@William Orrock I'm sure by now you've seen on the forums that you are definitely not alone in your situation - all the reasons you listed about the CA market are why many investors go out of state (OOS).

And, as @Lane Kawaoka mentioned, the better bets are typically secondary and tertiary markets when growth is slower but steadier (think investing in growth stocks vs a hot new tech IPO). Prices are lower, rent to value ratios are higher, and many of them have much better tax rates than CA. Not to toot our own horn too much, but Birmingham, for example, has some of the lowest property tax rates in the country: https://smartasset.com/taxes/alabama-property-tax-...

Choosing a market depends a lot on what kind of investment you want. Sounds like you're focusing on buy and hold, which means you can either go turnkey or a more DIY route. DIY can mean that you buy distressed properties and rehab them yourself to force equity without spending a lot (would be tough to do OOS unless you have a lot of airline miles banked and plenty of free time) and manage them from a distance (not recommend for a new investor), or build a team in the market of your choosing (agent, contractor, property manager, many new OOS investors do this).