Quick question about Investment property Interest rates..

14 Replies

Sean,

I am cashing out a duplex (strictly investment) and getting a 30 year fixed mortgage at 5.75%. I am not really happy with that. I was looking through bigger pockets hoping to see some other recent rates. I still feel like that is high. Side note - credit score of 786. Let me know if you find any better then that. I am going to keep looking this week and will lock in if I can not find anything better.

As a mortgage broker, I would like to say that there is a LOT of missing information from this post then just asking if a 7% is a high interest. Rate is not only based on credit score, whats your loan to value, what type of property is it, are you going conventional financing, are you doing full docs, is it stated income, is this a purchase, refinance, cash out, how much is the loan, etc...

As you can see there are MANY things that go about determining if the rate is good or not and you really compare to others who say they got a lower rate without knowing if their situation is EXACTLY like yours.

I do suggest that you compare with others though.

Originally posted by @Sean Moore :

Would anyone happen to know if 7% the current going interest rate for investment properties financed through mortgage lenders /banks? I was told by a mortgage broker that's the best he give us with an 830 credit score?

7% and a point or two is a good rate if it's a no income verification loan at 75% cash out on a 30 year fixed 1-4 unit property over $250K.  Full doc from a bank should be lower.

For all of you suggesting the mortgage broker is going for a big pay day, there's absolutely no way you can determine whether this rate is good or not because you have almost no information.  You have a rate, it's an investment property and the OP has really solid credit; that's it.