Is it a good to buy a property if sellers add a 1031 contingency?

12 Replies

My fiancé and I are looking to buy our first investment property, a duplex under and FHA loan. We recently through out an offer and the seller accepted with a contingency on a 1031. Our real estate agent has advised that it may not be a good idea to move forward on as it seems the seller will look to obtain the property back if unsuccessful finding another property within the time frame necessary for the 1031 tax laws. I'm still learning about the 1031 tax law and know if can provide benefits when selling a property and getting another. Is this something the seller could do? What is the downside if you are buying a property from another investor using the 1031 tax law for their benefit?

Your agent doesn’t understand fully the 1031 process.  The seller has 45 days to identify his replacement after he closes the sale to you.  If doesn’t fulfill his 1031 purchase of another property, he has Absolutely no way to “undo” his sale to you.....it is done and over.

Your agent  is misinformed and a bit paranoid.

I’m sure the “1031 addendum” (typically used on the purchase end of the 1031) says nothing about him being able to undo the sale should he not find a replacement property in time.

I think the seller has to write that into the contract for their own tax purposes.  They can’t take back the property after it is sold.  The seller has a specific time period to #1 - identify properties to purchase from 1031 sale, and #2 - purchase a property from that list.  This has nothing to do with your purchase of the property. 

Hope this helps. 

Promotion
BiggerPockets
The one-stop-shop for REI
Find Local Home Improvement Pros!
Check out our network of trusted, local contractors for all of your home improvement projects.
Find a Contractor