Help Me Analyze My First Deal

13 Replies

Hey all,

I'm a new investor looking to kick things off using the BRRRR strategy in Lubbock, TX. I'm new to analyzing deals, so I was hoping to get a sanity check on a deal that's come my way.

This is an off MLS property currently owned by another BP member/investor/RE Agent/GC. She was planning to flip this herself, but thought it might be a good fit for me. The property was originally a 3/2 with garage, but the garage has now been converted to make the property a 4/2. The current owner believes it should probably just be converted back to a 3/2, but I'm interested in seeing if we can go to a 4/3 to increase appraisal price and STR gross potential.

Purchase price: $75k

Estimated rehab: $30k

ARV: $120k

Obviously, using the BRRRR method, the hope would be for purchase and rehab expenses to come to $90k, rather than $105k.

I'm torn on this deal for a few reasons:

1.  This is a long distance deal.  It would be a huge benefit to do this deal with a partner who is an investor, has her RE license, and is also a GC.  I have seen some of her listings and properties she's done in the past and they're right in line with my expectations.

2. I have watched the webinars, read the book, listened to the podcasts, etc... and I know that walking into a deal expecting an all in price at 87% of ARV rather than 75% or so of ARV isn't considered "buying right."

3.  Those same webinars, books, podcasts, etc... talk about the first deals "not mattering" beyond getting your portfolio started and learning.

Should I jump on a deal that looks fairly turn key on the outside that will leave ~$11k of initial investment in the deal to get things started or should I be patient and wait for something that appears to have better margins?