Best place to start?

26 Replies

Hey everyone!

My name is Justin and I would like to first of all just say thank you for any and all advice I get from this post.

I am a former police officer and am using my retirement from that to invest. After taxes I'll have about $22,000 and was wondering where to start. I am brand new to REI and can't wait to get started but I just don't know where to start. I love the idea of BRRRR but have heard so many different things about that I'm not sure if it's right for me yet. I've also heard a lot about wholesaling but I'm not sure about that one either.

My goals are to have multiple rentals and ultimately end up on the commercial side.

So to sum it all up, where would you start if you had 20 grand?

Again thank you for your help!!

If you don't have a primary residence and don't hate having roommates, buy a place and bring in a few roommates. Huge potential income stream, and if you buy it right, you'll have a property that'll cash flow once you move on to the next one.

Is that $20k in cash? Or is it still in some kind of retirement account?

@Justin Walsh that answers that, then! 

First, I'd recommend you make a habit of going to local real estate networking events. As many as you can, maybe start with the goal of 2 a month. 

Your purpose will be to meet people who have been successful in real estate, learn about what they did and where they came from.

Don't buy any coaching programs or products until you're totally committed to a particular path. 

I give that recommendation because I don't think anyone can pick a strategy for you better than you can. Further, you're going to be more committed to a strategy you pick for yourself. But you can only pick a strategy once you know what's out there!

You're close enough to Fort Worth that there should be quite a few options near you. 

@Justin Walsh

Hi Justin,